Each team is comprised of up to three members, age 18 or older, who are current residents of Illinois. Line drawings of each team’s sculpture are submitted at time of application, and block assignments are done by lottery.

2015 State Teams

Exhibition: Vikings in Black – “Master of the Universe”
Members: Bjorn Skupien, Sven Skupien (Captain), Thorfinn Skupien

Block 1: Polar Vortex – “Fee! Fie! Foe! Fum!”
Members: Mike McNamara, Scott Shepherd (Captain), Alva Thomas

Block 2: Snowflake Assassins – “Battle for the Iron Throne”
Members: Kelly Madison, Candace Washburn, Chris Wing (Captain)

Block 3: Snow Demons – “Lion of Venice”
Members: Francesca Brand, Christopher Lindal, Amy Sticha (Captain)

Block 4: Kilted Snow Weasels – “Shot of Whiskey … Leave the Bottle”
Members: George Harnish, Grant Rundblade, Randy Tackett (Captain)

Block 5: Whippersnappers – “Oni”
Members: Brett Calomino (Captain), Sean Heinekamp, Clayton Weiss

Block 6: Moxie’s Maxim – “Joyride”
Members: Katie Dorland (Captain), Jodie Jones, Shellie Zuroske


Block 7: The Band of Misfit Boys – “Hugh Manatee”
Members: Dan “Man-Bear” Berry, Keith Pliml, Scott Triplett (Captain)


Block 8: Team Iron Lion – “White Wave”
Members: Bradley Argyle (Captain), Krista Gustafson, Eric Hoffman


Block 9: Frosted Flakes – “The Space Between Us”
Members: Steve Larson, Bruce Quast (Captain), Michael Rathbun


Block 10: Quatsch-Men – “Dancing with the ‘Saurs”
Members: Jack Gerard, Peter Hermann (Captain), Doug Scherrinsky


Block 11: Slacktastic 4 – “Krampus is Coming to Town”
Members: Nathaniel Branch, Andy Skupien (Captain), Jared Corey

Block 12: Frieze Masons – “The Mane Event”
Members: Sergio Aguilar, Ryan Ehredt (Captain), Christopher Hansen

2014 Winners

  • 1st Place, State Champions: Vikings in Black (Block 4) – “Dragon Whisperer”
  • 2nd Place: Frosted Flakes (Block 9) – “Take Me to Your Leader”
  • 3rd Place: Slacktastic 4 (Block 2) – “Ents Go Marching In”
  • Committees Choice: Frosted Flakes (Block 9) – “Take Me To Your Leader”
  • People’s Choice: Whippersnappers (Block 3) – “Get Off My Lawn!”